The wonders of no knead bread

image I haven’t had great results making bread until last year when Jennifer bought the book, “artisan breads in 5 minutes a day”. The bread is of the no knead variety and there a literally hundreds of permutations that can arise from a handful of base recipes. The best thing is that you can store a tub of dough (see above) in the fridge and have fresh baked bread any night of the week in the time it takes your oven to heat and the bread to bake. Before you scoff, even
Harold McGee is a believer. Using a recipe for olive oil dough, in the past week, we’ve had olive bread, focaccia, a batard, and pizza all from one batch of refrigerated dough. The simplest ratio would be 6:3:3:13 or 6 cups water, 3T salt, 3T yeast, 13 cups flour. That would make 8, one pound servings of breads. I usually make half as my 5 1/2 quart mixer won’t hold anymore. I just dump everything in, mix until combined, transfer to a bowl to rise for 2 hours, then dump into a container that fits in the fridge and dust the top with flour. As long as it’s relatively wet, it will work. It’s revolutionary.
image

image

image

image

3 thoughts on “The wonders of no knead bread

  1. Some mysterious individual (JW) drop shipped the “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day” to my house, which arrived late this evening. I’m glad JW posted this as well as sent me the book. One tip i have after browsing the book since i used this ratio earlier today, is that when you don’t use lukewarm water, allow additional time for the first rise – up to twice as long. I was wondering why my first rise was so insignificant. I think i have a couple hours to go. Thanks JW for the book. It will be well used.

  2. I told my wife I was going to start trying my hand at making my own breads. Never have done so. What does she do . . goes and buys me a bread making machine for Christmas. I’m dismayed as we have two state of the art convection ovens in the kitchen. Then she also got me the super cheap low end stamped Wusthoff knives. Not the good forged steel ones.

    A in effort, D- in results. I’ll be ordering that book myself and look forward to my initial forays. Really just doing it as an excuse to buy a bad ass Kitchen Aid mixer.

  3. For Mike: the dough doesn’t rise really at all the second go around but has an incredible puff during baking. It will take some practice to not turn anything you make into a boule…the olive bread pictured was actually formed into something that looked like a batard.

Leave a Reply

