Need to drop some lbs…

imageTalapia, cauliflower, yellow-pepper curry sauce.

I am really going to have to fire Jennifer as chief laundry washer…she keeps shrinking by pants, I mean they just keep getting tighter and tighter. Not really, getting fatter and fatter. Combination of too much food & drink and lack of meaningful exercise and a slowing metabolism means I am going to have to make a concerted effort over the next few months to drop some lbs.

Problem is…I hate diet food and at this time of year, what else is there to do other than eat & drink? Gonna have to be creative… Would welcome suggestions.

Pictured is a very low-calorie dinner entree. It contains about a 4 ounce portion of talapia lightly floured and pan seared (in a non-stick pan with minimal oil). Roasted cauliflower “steak”, and a roasted yellow-pepper curry sauce.

I first had roasted cauliflower at “Black Olive” in Baltimore which they served as a side dish for whole roasted branzino, and I loved it! You will too (I think), if you just give it a try.

My favorite method is to trim the green leaves and a portion of the stem, then slice into 1 inch “steaks” keeping the stem and florets attached. A quick brush with olive oil, salt and pepper. Sear in a saute pan over medium-high heat for a few minutes until nicely caramelized, flip, then move to a 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes. I used minimal oil in the preparation here, but using more greatly improves the flavor.

As for a healthy sauce for an otherwise bland fish…roasted pepper emulsions are my favorite. For this one, I roasted a yellow pepper, peeled and chopped, then tossed in the blender with some chicken stock, curry powder, and a tsp of butter. It was a little thin, so instead of adding more butter, I used about an 1/8 tsp of xanthum gum as a thickener and viola! Similar sauces are great for all kinds of light fish dishes. I find that curry is great with cauliflower. Overall, this was a tasty and successful dish that was low calorie (I guess around 350 calories per serving).

One thought on “Need to drop some lbs…

Leave a Reply

