the lenten vegetarian challenge

Not that I’ve every really gotten into lent. However, it does provide for an interesting challenge. Can I go meatless for 40 days? I don’t mean to impose this on the kids; this would be adults only.
I get the feeling that there will be a lot of tofu in my future should I choose to pursue it. Regardless, it would make for some interesting blog posts.
There would have to be some parameters and rules up front. I mean, I would still want to use meat stocks. And there’s the matter of a big birthday celebration for DOG which will involve a lot of grilling. Even still, could we cut it out of diets for 6 days a week, and have Free Fridays?

Comments? All 3 of you that read this?

12 thoughts on “the lenten vegetarian challenge

  1. Hey OG! Looks like you have a very good idea! I could do vegen for 6 days and then “free fridays” but no tofu here . . .

  2. Technically, if you look at the number of days from Ash Wednesday to Easter, there are more than 40. That’s because Sundays were not to be considered in the 40 days, so i reckon your sabbath can be Friday instead. Meatless for 40 days would definitely be a difficult penance.

  3. God/Yahweh/Big Kahuna, etc didn’t give us pigs, cows, deer, quail etc just so we could eat ruffage for a tenth of the year.

    You need to go back and read Bourdain’s famous rant on vegetarians before you subject yourself to such a quest.

  4. I went meatless in college for nearly 2 months. My suggestion is to beef up Indian culinary skills (no pun intended). Ghee satisfies the meat craving quite nicely. Not to mention egg dishes. Is this the healthiest option? Almost certainly no, but it’s manageable. Trust me.

  5. @MCGD, yeah I know. It’s mostly for the challenge of it. And I totally agree with Bourdain’s declaration about vegetarianism amounting to an eating disorder. Besides it won’t be the whole time, it’s just mostly an exercise to get better at cooking vegetables. Some way other than boiled with a smoked ham hock. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. Just sayin.

    @JBH Totally agree that it’s not necessarily the healthiest option. I’ve been working on the Asian/Indian stuff a bit which is why I think I can pull it off. As far as Ghee goes, I picked some up. It’s like always having soft butter nearby.

  6. I used to make my own ghee in college, a bit time consuming but worth the effort in satisfaction. My sister and brother-in-law rave about Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian.”

    http://www.amazon.com/How-Cook-Everything-Vegetarian-Meatless/dp/0764524836

    I can’t speak to it personally, but I turn to his regular “How to Cook Everything” from time to time. It’s no Peterson and certainly no Keller, but nice for simple techniques to kick off personal touches. If I were to go vegetarian for a month, I’d make the investment.

  7. BTW: the fasting during Lent is typically on Friday. “Fish on Friday” Historically, Christians have fasted on Wednesdays (when Judas betrayed Jesus) and on Fridays (the Crucifixion) not only during the Lenten season, but throughout the year.

    I will join your quest this year during Lent, but perhaps only on Wednesday and Friday. How’s that sound?

    JW

  8. Is their scripture to back this up or is it just something that has become traditional?

    I for one am much more a supporter of Last Supper type meals with plenty of food, wine, good friends, and Davinci to record it for posterity.

    Minus the feet washing of course. Jesus shows up he gets the pedicure of a lifetime . . . Jay Dub . . . not so much.

  9. I AM GLAD TO SEE A FOODIE WANT TO GO VEGGIE FOR LENT! IT IS THE ULTIMATE SACRIFICE IN MY BOOK. I WENT VEGAN FOR TWO MONTHS BEFORE BLOOD WORK A FEW YEARS AGO AND IT WAS AMAZING HOW MUCH BETTER MY CHOLESTEROL NUMBERS LOOKED—I JUST CANNOT SUSTAIN THAT WITH MY LOVE OF ANYTHING MEAT AND CHEESE. NOW THAT I TAKE A CHOLESTEROL MED I WOULD LIKE TO TRY IT AGAIN TO SEE HOW LOW I COULD GO. I WILL TALK MIKE INTO TRYING IT FOR AT LEAST A PORTION OF THE WEEK. MAYBE WED/FRI.THIS IS A NOBLE ENDEAVOR OG THAT DESERVES SUPPORT. MAB AND I WILL TRY THE WED FRI THING TOO. MAYBE EVEN THE ENTIRE WEEK AND TAKE THE WEEKEND OFF.IF YOU GO ALL VEGGIE THE DAIRY AND EGGS WILL HELP IMMENSELY. THE VEGAN IS THE TOUGH ONE, NO MEAT OR DAIRY OR EGGS.LAURA B.

  10. @JW totally accepting of any participation. If you choose to do two days a week, go for it.

    @LAURA. Thanks for the kind words, honestly I didn’t really expect the responses that i’ve gotten so it appears to have struck a nerve. Like we know we eat too much meat, maybe? Maybe. We’ll see how it goes. Its not going to be as strict as it sounds, but it should still be interesting.

  11. Pingback: farewell to flesh « Big Dawg Eats

Leave a Reply

