Mom! Meatloaf, we want it now!

image

After watching “Wedding Crashers” for the 87th time, I indeed wanted some meatloaf. Of course, I can’t settle for the typical ketchup laden loaf like that served by Chaz’s mom, but rather a BDE worthy effort. Thinking of the origins of the meat loaf, the pate, I decided to kick it up with chicken livers…and was rewarded for the effort.

The goods:
1 1/2 lbs meat loaf mix (veal:pork:beef) or 1/2 pork:beef
1/3 baguette torn, processed into crumbs
4 chicken livers, membranes and large veins removed
Onion
Red bell pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 eggs
Mustard
Prepared horseradish
Parsley
Herbs d’Provence
Salt and pepper
Red wine

Preheat oven to 425.
Heat sauté pan over medium heat. Add a knob of butter until sizzling, then add chopped chicken livers and sauté until well-browned, 3-4 minutes. Deglaze with a bit of red wine and transfer mixture to a blender, cool slightly and blend until smooth.
Wipe pan clean, and sauté diced onion and pepper until softened, then add garlic. Deglazebwith a bit more wine. In a large bowl, add meat, liver puree/pate, eggs, bread crumbs, a spoonful of Dijon mustard, a spoonful of horseradish, a large pinch of herbs, and some salt and pepper. Add the onion mixture and let cool slightly, then mix with your hands until well-combined.
Transfer to a buttered loaf pan and press lightly. Bake for 10 minutes, the decrease heat to 350 and cook until an instant read thermometer reads 160. Rest for 10 minutes, unmold and serve with mashed potatoes and hericot verts. Alternatively, slice and sauté in olive oil. For my taste, a drizzle of truffle oil. Garnish with parsley.

2 thoughts on “Mom! Meatloaf, we want it now!

  1. I’ve seen a lot of variability in the quality of livers lately. When I was ordering from my farmer, we’d get this really nice looking, dark red livers. When I buy from the grocery store with giblets, the usual livers I get look like NASH, kinda yellow and sad. What’s your experience with the quality of livers you’ve been getting?

    • Personally, I don’t eat a lot of livers…like all offal, I tend to use them as accent rather as the main ingredient. With that said, I typically buy chicken livers in the plastic container from Publix only when the butcher assures me the were stocked within the last 2 to 3 days. Then, I inspect the ones on the surface to make sure they don’t look “NASH”y. Finally, as I only use as accent, I will sort thru them and probably discard 75% of the ones in the container. Long story short…it’s hard to find a good liver.

Leave a Reply

