rhone valley


I know I’ve talked about it before, but I don’t really make a big deal about wine recommendations. Mainly because you typically can’t get what I can get if you don’t live where I live. Thanks state law. But one I bring up over and over is stuff from the Rhone valley. I know I’ve posted on here about it in the past, but if you feel like you’re in a rut and want something that tastes good and is a great value, check some of these. Remember that the odd years are going to be better than even years since 2005 or so. A lot of these you’ll find in the sweet spot of 10-20 depending on how specialized you get. And yes you can spend in the hundreds or more if you want.
Check out some of the different varietals (from left to right)
Vin de Pays de Collines Rhodaniennes
Saint Joseph
Gigondas
Chateauneuf du Pape
Vacqueyras
Cotes-du-Rhone

Look at the one on the far left, and you can pick up some stuff from the label.
IMG_1018
1. Imported by Kermit Lynch. Never had anything bad from that he puts his name on.
2. The picture of the vineyard. If they come from multiple vineyards, they don’t do that.
3. Mis en Bouteille a la Propriete. Bottled on the property. These aren’t grapes that were sold to someone else for bottling.
4. 12% alcohol. Hard to find. Just look around, most everything is 13-14% or more. I’ve seen some up to 16%, personally that’s not what I’m looking for.

 

 
Of all of them, the Cotes-du-Rhone is the best value, and the way to start.
Look for stuff like Chapoutier, Jaboulet Parellele 45, E. Guigal CDR, etc. all of which you should be able to find for under 20 bucks.

3 thoughts on “rhone valley

  1. that’s a really important point, because most all of us are impatient and want something we can drink now as opposed to 20 years from now. I’ve all but given up on Bourdeaux (especially the cab dominant) because for it to be any good it has to cellar for about 10-20 years. Some with Barolo. For me and my time and effort, forget it. That’s why I think this region is the most accessible.

  2. Pingback: Syrahs of the Northern Rhone: a Showdown of Aromatics « Diary of a Winebuyer

Leave a Reply

