Pan roasted quail and glazed carrots

Got to thinking about a quail recipe so I searched the BDE archives and found this. I thought it, along with the original comments, was worth reposting. Enjoy!

Big Dawg Eats

From 2010-05-08 – 2010-05-12

My Aunt in South Georgia sent me a cooler full of quail, what a delight! I don’t know that I’ve ever had it available other than from plantation hunters, but I could be wrong. I still have a long ways to go to perfect it, but the first shot out of the barrel was a pan-roasted quail with pan sauce and glazed carrots. Nothing earth-shattering but a quick way to utilize a couple of techniques.

The why and how
Quail is a lean meat about 4-6 ounces per breast. They way mine were cleaned was by separating the drumettes from the bone-in breasts. I figured on 2 birds per person which turned out to be plenty. Because it’s so lean, it needs fat for basting or it dries out super quick. I’ve had it grilled wrapped with bacon, which was great as well.

Flavor combinations

Thumbing…

View original post 747 more words

Leave a Reply

